Mother Earth – Steve Wolf Original (with recording of song below)

pack of wolves

Oh Mother Earth

I’m going down

The full moon shines upon

A sea of stars

A flood of light

And I am sinking

Oh Mother Earth

I was thinking

That when I die

And all my tomorrows

Like tears

Fall into the sky

And flicker

And pass me by

And when I leave my friends

The ones I love

Will I never know them again

Or understand

Their tenderness

Their loveliness

Or feel them warm

Against my

Skin

Am I to lie there endlessly

Alone in death

Eternity

Waiting

Without them

Oh I could cry

A million tears

Mother Earth

These are my fears

That I should pass

A million years

Or a single day

Without

Them

Oh Mother Earth

I’m going down

I feel the coldness

Of the ground

The bitter frost

Of deepest space

I cannot bear

To face it

And when I feel this way

Wrap your arms around me

Press you body

Into mine

As if your soul

Could enter

Me

And when I feel this way

Do not say a word

Or dry my tears

Just hold me

And let the years

Pass

Oh Mother Earth

We’re going down

The full moon sets

And sinks

Beneath the dark waters

Of the flood

And all is

Silent

 

 

I finally found Steve Wolf’s original song that I attempted to recreate below.  Listen to the acoustic version by the original author.  Chilling…

4 responses to “Mother Earth – Steve Wolf Original (with recording of song below)

  1. Let me know if you cannot listen to the song on at the link. Had a problem with Raging Fire regarding Java Script or some such hubbabaloo-ding-dang-doo.

Your Shadow's voice is welcome here.